Once

I thought I fell in love, but how I quickly came to see.

True Love is overrated, not meant for someone like me.

I left myself be open, entrenched and blinded by love’s design.

Engulfed by its passion, utterly lost in space in time.

I let you lie to me and make promises I know you wouldn’t keep.

And now those lies and promises are painful memories making me weep.

Knowing the end was inevitable, still I made this dubious choice.

And felt a pain immeasurable, when I listened to my heart’s voice.

I built my walls around just to have you tear them down.

And now I stand here alone, and you’re not even around.

What is love but a feeling, a word often used in jest.

An ephemeral emotion, not worth the time to develop and invest.

A captivating story, ending only where it starts.

An all-too predictable cycle, this game of broken hearts.

Though yielding temporary happiness, it ends in bitter grief.

The absence of all hope and faith, of comfort and relief.

Categories: About Me

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Once”

  1. September 3, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    😦
    love… you can’t live with it… can’t live without.
    i’m sorry.. remember you can talk to me whenever, you’ve
    got my facebook.

    – dani ❤

    • September 6, 2010 at 7:56 am #

      Thank you so much. Been tough for me lately

      • September 9, 2010 at 4:54 am #

        i know what its like.. going through tough times, revolving around heartbreak. high school lol. but hey… gotta be strong and crazy like mee xD
        :3

      • September 10, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

        He he…I am usually very strong.

  2. kelargo
    September 8, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    when one door closes, another one opens.
    everything has a reason and everything has its time and place.

    🙂

    • September 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      Thank you for that comment. I know that to be true and am trying to live by this as I agree with you. Sigh…time will tell.

  3. December 11, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    i think you need a hug

  4. December 11, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    once is 2 many because it’s never enough

  5. September 25, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Beautiful Poem.

Leave a Reply

