Long Lost Friends and Home Cooked Meals

I am not the kind of girl who makes friends easily. Most people would find that baffling coming from me because I seem so sociable and friendly on the surface. But being friendly and actually cultivating a strong and true friendship are completely different things.

Recently, my friend Michelle and her husband, Sang, moved back to LA after having left me here 6 years ago to move to Colorado. When she moved I was really sad as she was one of the few close friends I had in LA. That same year my best friend moved back to Hong Kong and another good friend of mine moved to San Francisco. I felt like all of a sudden I didn’t have anyone to bear my chest to and I was left with acquaintances I wasn’t sure I wanted to get to know further.

When I heard Michelle was moving back I was almost in disbelief. Could this really be happening? I was ecstatic when 2 weeks later she really was back and settled in.

The first moment I saw her was a bit strange, admittedly. I mean, how are you supposed to feel when your good friend comes back after 6 years of not seeing each other? I was fearful that our friendship had changed and that we had grown so different that we wouldn’t be able to pick up from where we left off.

My worries were put to rest and I realized that nothing had changed between us and it felt like no time had passed. It was as if Michelle and Sang never left.

This past Friday I went over to have dinner for the first time. They made me their traditional Korean dinner, which I loved.

20110925-102633.jpg
We had Kalbi and Kimchi Chige amongst other typical small Korean side dishes paired with a nice bottle of red wine.

20110925-102646.jpg
Needless to say I had a great evening with my long lost friends and a warm home-cooked meal. We talked and talked and the evening flew by.

20110925-102657.jpg
You all know I love food but food shared with good friends cannot be beat. There is something to be said about the old adage “Old friends are like gold” because a true friendship is as hard to find as gold. So treasure your true friends because they are hard to come by.

As for me, I am just so happy to have Michelle back in my life again. And home-cooked Korean food 🙂

20110925-102609.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: About Me

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Long Lost Friends and Home Cooked Meals”

  1. September 25, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    A beautiful story about a beautiful friendship…blog well done!

  2. November 11, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    I just love Korean food. What a nice story too!

    • November 11, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      Why thank you so much. Yeah, Korean food is really good!

  3. November 15, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Everything looks so good too!

  4. November 15, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    I too make friends slowly and treasure those connections deeply. I’m so glad your friend has returned to your life… and so much amazing food to celebrate it! Wish I could try that chige.

    • November 16, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Good to know there are others out there like me. Sometimes I feel like everyone around me is a social butterfly and I am just socially awkward! lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Very Inspiring Blogger Award — again ^^ « The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic - November 20, 2012

    […] Gourmandchic 2) Hastywords 3) Misseychelles 4) Leemajors 5) Ashmoto 6) […]

Leave a Reply

