Grand View with Lunch

One of the many things I love about Hong Kong is that often you get a spectacular view to go with most meals.  Having lunch at The American Club in Central did just that.  We have a lot of reclaimed land in Hong Kong due to lack of space and too many people.  Regardless, of all the cities I have visited or lived in Hong Kong is definitely one of the top most beautiful cities in the world.  You get a wonderful view on either Hong Kong side or Kowloon side.

The American Club in Central is a place I used to go pretty often for lunch with my parents.  When I was growing up that was the place I could get my fix on an all-American meal of hot dogs, hamburgers, ice-cream sundaes or pizza.  My tastes in food has grown but The American Club always brings back fond memories.  And who doesn’t like a burger or hot dog now and then?

For this particular lunch we went to The Clipper.  One of the more elegant restaurants in the Central location and the menu offers some great choices for lunch.

I started with a Cream of Corn Soup which was absolutely deliciousl.  I have to say that in general, it is hard to find “bad” food in Hong Kong.  The quality of selection and taste rivals anywhere in the world and Hong Kong is known for it’s food.

You can also opt for the salad bar which gives a nice variety of greens.  My mom and dad LOVE the salad bar.  I don’t think there is a restaurant we go to that my parents would give up the option of going to the salad bar if the restaurant offers one.  My parents try and eat healthier these days which means more greens and less meat.  I wish I could follow in their footsteps.

For my main course can you guess what I had?  Well being the meat lover that I am I decided to have steak.  Prime rib is one of my favorite cuts next to porterhouse.  Medium rare is how I like it.  I chowed down!  I tend to eat too fast.  I really need to learn to chew my food better.

I always save room for dessert because I have such a sweet tooth.  Literally, I could be up to my neck with food and feeling stuffed yet when someone offers me dessert I will not refuse.  Luckily, the dessert was light, consisting of two sorbets and two ice-creams.

American Club, you have fed me well.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Restaurant Reviews

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Grand View with Lunch”

  1. September 16, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    It looks like a fine place to eat and relax. The view is great as well, how is the atmosphere? Quiet with elevator-like music, or loud conversation with kinking of china and utensils? Personally I prefer somewhere in the middle. If I have to eat alone, I would rather eat at home. Dining out, is a social affair, and we are social creatures. There is nothing like great food and intriguing dialogue. Like a hand and a glove, one was made for the other.

    • September 16, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

      The atmosphere there is pretty relaxing and not loud at all. There is a chitter chatter sound but just enough where it allows you to converse with who you are there with as well. I really like it there. You are right though. Most HK restaurants are pretty loud.

  2. Ana
    January 5, 2013 at 4:41 am #

    Hi! We’ve recently launched the site http://www.Recipesup.com, on our website you can promote your blog win prizes and cash. I invite you to go and take a look. Your blog will be in the top rank of Recipesup blogs. Hopefully your food blog will be up there in the top!

    Kind regards

  3. January 6, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    A grand view indeed with food that looks heavenly delcious. Happy New Year and best wishes to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

