A Taste of Venice


I am truly excited and humbled to be able to bring to you my culinary experiences during my two-week trip to Italy.  I only just returned last night but already anxious to get going on blogging and vlogging about it all.  My trip started in Venice and ended in Sorrento.  I think I ate so much I must have tripled in size!  I am going to share with you all the quick snacks foods and street foods that can be seen all around Venice.  I don’t know how people resist living there because every other store is a pastry shop, coffee shop or restaurant.  Every street corner has stalls that sell street food and gelato!  My stomach was in heaven for two weeks.  As I type this it is growling to me very loudly.  Hungry just looking at my own photos.

So without further ado I am going to start slow by giving you a quick taste of Venice.  Buon appetito!

Croissants are a dime a dozen in Venice but the best one was at Via Mulino 3 right around the corner from my hotel.  At only 1 euro a piece?  It is a steal for a quick breakfast since most hotel breakfasts cost approximately 10 euros per person.

And to go with those croissants?  A nice cup of hot cappuccino.  Italians sure do love their coffee.  Even for a non-coffee drinker like myself I ordered a few of this throughout my trip.  I had to fit in and fine the Italian in me, sì?

In case you didn’t know, paninis are served at every café and every restaurant in Italy.  I don’t know how many of them I ate but in Venice there are some very appetizing selections that make it hard for you to decide what to get.  Just look at the way it is displayed?  The variety made me want to buy them all every time I walked by.  For a gourmand like myself, this is bad news.

I have to say it was still very warm in October.  The days are hot and the nights cool down somewhat.  They serve these iced coconut chips everywhere to help people cool down from the sun.  Very reasonable too at 0.50 euros.

The selection of gelato was enough to drive me crazy too with flavors such as Nutella and Bacio amongst other mouthwatering flavors, I had to go with a baby scoop to control myself.

Not only was the baby ice-cream cute but it makes me feel better about getting one gelato a day on average.  Why is it when I am in Italy I eat so much ice-cream and once I am back home I rarely even buy it?  Those Italians sure do know how to get you addicted!

Nooooooo, I did not have two to myself.  Do you really think I am that piggish?  Coughs.  Ermm…moving on.

After I saw salami and all kinds of deli meats as well as sausages being sold everywhere, I wanted to buy one of each to bring back home.  If only I could fill an entire suitcase with food.  I honestly would.

Okay, so this cannot be normal.  Why are their meringues so large?  It was not only this store.  Every store sells gigantic meringues.  I have never seen such monstrous but scrumptious meringues my entire life.

Then I saw this.  Super size Coca Cola candy.  What???  It inspired me to go home and open a pastry/candy store with everything in large proportions.   No joke.  Wouldn’t that be really successful?  No taking my ideas now okay?  I said it here first!

As I was strolling towards the Rialto bridge one day I came upon these wraps.  They were calling out to me.  So I did.  I got one.

I chowed down on it wearing my newly purchased mask.  Quite fitting don’t you think?  Bet you I looked Venetian.  Even the locals thought I was a local.

Italy wouldn’t be Italy without pasta.  I walked by a ton of these stands selling pasta of every sort and finally gave in and bought a large bag for 4 euros.  I cannot wait to cook them and see how they turn out.  Debating what sauce I want to make with it.  Hmmmm, any suggestions?

If you have been to Venice then you know that they love their peppers.  I don’t know how many countless of stands I saw selling peppers and chili and garlic.  Core ingredients for a lot of their dishes.  Colorful to photograph too.

Thanks for stopping by and please come back for more Italian goodies because there is a ton more coming.  Ciao!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “A Taste of Venice”

  1. October 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Yum. This all looks very delicious!

  2. October 23, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    What a gorgeous mask!!!
    A friend of mine bought one as well and it was exquisite!
    Fingers crossed that I’ll get to photograph the Carnival of Venice one day<3

    • October 23, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      I want to get a mask everytime I visit Venice and add to my collection!!!

  3. October 24, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Beautiful – and now my mouth is watering and my tummy rumbling!

    • October 24, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      That is what I do!!! Hahaha…thanks 🙂

  4. November 19, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Great pictures!!

  5. December 14, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    Superb photography!

Leave a Reply

