Abalone is my Little Piece of Heaven

It is no secret.  Ever since the age of three, I have loved abalone.  The story goes that I was at a banquet in Hong Kong and was sitting in-between my grandma and my mom.  My mom whispered to my grandma in Shanghainese to take my abalone away as a three year old would not appreciate it.  As my grandma began to reach over to take the abalone from me, they noticed to their surprise that I had placed my little finger on top of the abalone, refusing to let them take it away from me.  From that day onwards, my love for abalone has never stopped.  Thus, little Gourmand Chic was born.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: About Me, Exotic Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Abalone is my Little Piece of Heaven”

  1. February 13, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    I grew up in Iquique, Chile. My dad used to put on his diving gear and go fish for these off the rocks away from the shores of the beach. So good! 😀

    • February 19, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      Wow that just sounds amazing!!!

      • February 19, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

        It was great! you can’t do that anymore these days, but back then it was awesome to have seafood right at the beach 🙂

      • February 20, 2013 at 7:54 am #

        You still can in some place in Thailand and Indonesia. Bali!!!

      • February 20, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

        Wish I had the $ to travel there, Haven’t been to asia much in the past few years 😦

Leave a Reply

