Szechuan Spicy Shrimp Recipe

Whenever I am back in Hong Kong at home, I really like to take advantage of the fact that I have a huge kitchen and plenty of counter space to work with. I love my kitchen back in Orange County but it can be challenging to cook and blog from there.  Today, I am going to show you step-by-step instructions on how to make my famous Szechuan Spicy Shrimp.  All my friends know that when they come over for dinner, I will most likely make this dish or cook it upon request.  It is definitely a favorite!

Typically, most blogs will list the ingredients and the method and show some pictures so you can figure it out for yourself.  I would like to do things a bit differently and just post each step one by one for you to follow.  It is Szechuan Shrimp made easy!  Just trying something new for today.

Step 1

Clean approximately 1 – 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp.  Cut off all the legs.

Step 2

Mince 3 cloves of garlic to fill one medium size ramekin

Step 3

Mince 1 piece of ginger to fill one medium size glass ramekin

Step 4

Dice up 8 small onions

For onions, I used small red onions that are readily available in Hong Kong wet markets or supermarkets.  In addition, you can use shallots.

Step 5

Chop green onions as suited to your taste.  I don’t like to out too much as the taste can overpower.  Here, I chopped enough to fill a small size glass ramekin

Step 6

Add oil and stir fry the garlic, ginger and onions together in a wok

Step 7

Mix in a tablespoon of your favorite chili sauce and then set aside

Step 8

Stir fry the shrimp with two teaspoon of salt in a separate wok or pan and set aside when done.  Mix in the sauce with the shrimp together on medium heat for 5 minutes and serve!

NOTE:  I am working on publishing a cookbook at the moment so if you want more details on ingredients and full recipe, please buy my cookbook when  it comes out.  I will keep everyone updated as to when that will happen.  

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Szechuan Spicy Shrimp Recipe”

  1. James
    November 2, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    The sauce looks fantastic in step 7! Well done.

    • November 2, 2012 at 6:17 am #

      That means a lot to me. Thank you so much. Will you try this at home?

      • James
        November 2, 2012 at 8:35 am #

        I will probably head to the Aberdeen Wet Market on Saturday or Sunday and pick up some fresh prawns and make this awesome looking dish over the weekend. You have inspired me!

      • November 2, 2012 at 9:13 am #

        Yay! Let me now how it goes!!! SHare your pic with me 🙂

  2. alotonyourplate
    November 6, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Thank you so much for adding your recipe to my “Ingredient of the Month” post! You can check it out here:
    http://www.alotonyourplate.com/ingredient-of-the-month-garlic 🙂

  3. November 7, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    looks delicious! love shrimp ^^ i’ll try this

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ingredient Of The Month: Garlic - November 6, 2012

    […] Szechaun Spicy Shrimp submitted by Nicole Shen @ Gourmet Chic […]

Leave a Reply

