Soy Sauce Chicken Wings

(picture does not indicate true serving size)

I make a lot of fancy dishes.  I make a lot of variations of popular or traditional dishes.  However, sometimes it is nice to just make something simple and homey.  My mom has always been my inspiration and mentor for cooking because she is such a fabulous cook herself.  One thing she teaches me is to always cook the right dishes for the right occasions and never over do it.  Chicken is one of our favorite dishes to make in the household because my parents really aren’t big meat eaters.  Ever since my mom had cancer she is very particular about eating anything unhealthy, hormone injected or processed.  I believe we should all try our best to be aware of what we intake and not wait until an illness scares us into doing so.

Cantonese people definitely like their chicken.  Since we are Shanghainese, we don’t make too many Cantonese dishes except a few.  Soy sauce chicken wings is one of them.  I typically really like my food with as little sauce as possible.  I like to enjoy food in its more natural state without too many added ingredients.  Ever since I was a kid, I have always liked soy sauce, often adding some to my bowl of plain white rice and just eating it with nothing else.  As I got older, I began to love the very popular Cantonese soy sauce chicken rice.

Today I am sharing with you a dish that I made last week for lunch.

Serving – 4-6

Ingredients:

2  1/2 – 3 lbs chicken wings (separate drummettes)
1 1/4 cup soy sauce
3 cups water
5 cloves garlic, smashed
1 1/2 inch piece ginger, peeled ad sliced and smashed
3 tablespoons sugar
2 pieces star anise
1 scallion, shredded or chopped 
Optional – 1 cup rice wine
 
Method:
 
1. Slice and separate drummettes from wing tip.  Place in a pot.
2.  Heat the chicken, soy sauce and water over a medium flame.  Bring the liquid to a simmer then reduce to low heat and cover pot.
3  Add garlic, sugar, ginger and star anise.  Simmer chicken for approximately 45 minutes to an hour, depending on degree of tenderness you prefer.  
4.  Remove and plate any way you want.  Garnish with scallions.
5. Serve and enjoy!
 
Note:
 
Alternatively, you can roast the wings if you prefer.  If you are going with this method, then you need to make the marinade first by heating it in a saucepan until it boils.  Let it cool then marinate the chicken wings, cover and let it sit for several hours.  For added flavor, you can marinate overnight in the refrigerator.  When ready, brush wings with remaining marinade, preheat oven to 500°F and roast for approximately 30-40 minutes.  Remember to turn wings for even roasting.  Once the wings are crispy around the edges, they are ready to be taken out and served.
 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Soy Sauce Chicken Wings”

  1. November 7, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    the wings look delicious!

    • November 7, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Awww…so ver nice of you to say. Thank you.

  2. November 11, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    One of my favourite ways to enjoy chicken wings 😀

  3. November 11, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Ah so delicious!~ Coming from another Chinese, I approve!! (Lol! but seriously, great post.)

    • November 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Ha ha too funny. It does mean more when a Chinese person approves…seriously. Thanks for stopping by. Come back for me as I have a lot of Chinese recipes and food reviews for you to see!!!

Leave a Reply

