Touristy Lunch by The Grand Canal

Traveling and eating well definitely goes hand in hand for me…most of the time.  There are instances where I am swayed more by the scenic view rather than the quality of food.  It is my belief that any restaurant swarmed with tourists brings down the integrity of a chef, after all locals have higher expectations than outsiders, right?  On top of that, prices are spiked up too because why?  Tourists will pay!!!  They don’t now any better.  Ppssshhtttt.  In rare circumstances, I can accept that lower standard and high prices because I had a personal cause of my own I wanted to fulfill.  The Grand Canal is packed full of people all day long.  Venice captures the heart of many from around the world.  On this particular day, I woke up feeling like I wanted to be a part of that.  I wanted to have lunch overlooking all the busy action and the ferries going to and from their destinations.  That is how I came upon Caffe Internazionale overlooking the Grand Canal.

I started with an Ice Chocolate Drink.  How very me.  Always starting with something sweet if I can.  My excuse was that it was hot and I needed something to cool down!  It really hit the spot.  Cost?  €8.00.  Happiness?  Priceless.

I actually had a difficult time choosing what I wanted to eat because I do have a weakness for Italian food, especially pasta.  I ended up going for the Risotta Al Funghi for €10.00.  A bit pricey for what I got but the taste wasn’t bad at all. Exceeded my expectations.

The experience would have been enjoyable had it not been for the way my meal ended.  The credit card ended up having some problems going through and the owner of the restaurant had to swipe it three times until I breathed a sigh of relief hearing the machine making it’s “approval bleeps”.  In Italy, there are places where you walk to the cashier at the bar to pay for your bill.  While waiting for the credit card to go through the owner seemed really impatient and grumbled in Italian to the servers.  I didn’t understand every word she said but little does she know I speak a number of European languages and was able to piece together her discontent at the whole situation.  Didn’t leave a good taste in my mouth as I walked out.  It was my turn to mumble and grumble.

Can’t complain though.  I got what I came for – people watching and the magnificent view!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Touristy Lunch by The Grand Canal”

  1. November 11, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Venice! One of the bests! Actually for me, food comes way after the location unless it’s a signature, cultural cuisine.

    • November 12, 2012 at 4:35 am #

      I was just in Italy about a month and a half ago. I am also posting a lot about Italy 🙂 I love Venice.

  2. November 12, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Omg Italy is so beautiful!!~ Great post, the food looks delicious! ^^

    • November 13, 2012 at 1:05 am #

      Yeah Italy is one of my favorite countries in Europe. Have you visited? I really recommend going!

  3. November 13, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    Omg that ice chocolate thing looks amazing. And I am SO JEALOUS OF YOUR TRAVELS OMGGG.

    • November 13, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      LOL…you are too funny!!! It was pretty tasty though. And to have it in Venice? Sigh…makes me want to go back

Leave a Reply

