Light Lunch Accompanied by a Light Walk

I always consider Firenze to be my second hometown…or so I wish!  I have visited this beautiful city dripping in art and architecture maybe 6 times and every single time I visit I fall in love with it all over again.  I love Florence for many different reasons to why I love Venice.  I think Venice is such a romantic city filled with charm, but Florence is actually somewhere I can see myself living for a few years just so I can explore and eat my way through town!

I arrived Firenze early afternoon so I decided to take it easy the first day and have a light lunch before exploring some of my favorite parts of the city.  I took the train from Venice and then walked to the bed and breakfast I was staying at on foot.  I was huffing and puffing after climbing 4 steep flights of stairs to check in at the top of the building!  I decided that I just needed to sit down somewhere cool, with wifi and eat.  Hunger was making my stomach complain.  I knew I had to appease it or else I would be grumpy until dinner time.

I walked around and decided to find a random restaurant and see if I would be lucky to chance upon some good food.  I then walked by this window and saw mushrooms and a statue of David.  Why not, looked enticing enough for me!  The restaurant was called Cucina Tipica Toscana.

The interiors looked clean enough and the casual style was kind of cute.  I settled in and took a look at the menu.  The first thing I noticed was that the service was slow.  My waiter took forever to get to me and when he did, sorry to say, he had really bad BO.  Was a turn off for me.  I have to say here as a tip to waiters out there, if you are waiting on tables and serving food for a profession, please try and be aware of body odor.  There is nothing worse than a guest having to hold their breath every time you come around.  Just sayin…

Finally I got my nice frosted glass of ice cold Fanta Orange.  This was definitely my drink of choice throughout my Italy trip.  I remember last time I was into Pelligrino, which I still love.  Ahhhh…sipping a nice cold drink is the best on a hot day.  A Fanta is definitely not cheap though.  Cost me €5.00!

I ended up ordering a Four Seasons Salad for €9.00.  It was a sizable plate and surprisingly really nicely put together.  I hate it when salads come with too much greens and not enough meat to balance it.  This was the perfect mixture.  My stomach was happy.  And look at that beautiful ball of mozzarella!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Light Lunch Accompanied by a Light Walk”

  1. November 16, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    fantastic photos and yes what beautiful architecture!

  2. November 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    So nice that you’re getting to travel around Italy! I’m jealous… I’ve only been there once but that was nearly two decades ago now (when I was 14!).

    Beautiful photo of il Duomo! 🙂

    • November 18, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Maybe it is time to go back to Italy!!! Thank you for stopping by thought and reading my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

