R.I.P Twinkies

Every kid loves Twinkies.  I know I grew up eating them even though I lived in Hong Kong throughout my childhood.  Every country I knew of carried this deliciously sweet and enticing dessert.  Imagine my shock last week when I found out Hostess, the manufacturer of this “Golden Sponge Cake with Creamy Filling”, filed for Chapter 11 and will no longer be in existence.  Being in Hong Kong I decided to run out and buy some before none was left.  Too late.  Neary a Twinkie in sight.  Alas, you shall always live in my heart and my taste buds oh dear Twinkie.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: News

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “R.I.P Twinkies”

  1. November 21, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Heard that people were selling these Twinkies for millions of dollars. That’s crazy!

    • November 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      Really? Wow that is insane!!! Maybe that is their trick. To tell people they are closing and cause a frenzy lol

  2. November 24, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    That’s weird. A lot of food oldies are still in production like er, White Rabbit, Tootsie Roll, etc. People still pick up Twinkies esp. In most marts, convenient stores or gas stations. Oh well, may it rest in peace. 😀

    • November 25, 2012 at 5:44 am #

      I was really surprised too believe me. I know a lot of people who still buy snacks from Hostess!!! BTW, love White Rabbit!!! Grew up eating that.

  3. December 14, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    Twinkies!!!!

Leave a Reply

