Baked Yam and Marshmallow

I usually make two of everything for Thanksgiving if I have a lot of people over for dinner.  In case one is not enough I have a backup!  This is a very simple dish to make yet it is one of my favorites because I love marshmallow!  Hope you can try this at home not only for Thanksgiving but anytime of the year is fun.  Christmas is a great holiday to serve this dish too.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 – 3 pounds yam (sweet potato)

1/3 evaporated milk

1 tablespoon butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 bag miniature marshmallow (or more if you like)

Optional:  Some people like to put cinnamon in this recipe but I don’t.  If you like cinnamon, then add 1 tablespoon to the mixture

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2.  Peel yam (sweet potato) and place in a large pot to boil on high heat.

3.  Once water boils, reduce heat and continue to cook until tender.

4.  Remove from stove and drain water.

5.  Leave yam (sweet potato) in pot and add butter, evaporated milk, brown sugar and vanilla extract.  Also add cinnamon in you decide to use this ingredient.  Beat until smooth.

6.  Using a wooden spoon, transfer the yam (sweet potato) into a casserole of your choice and smooth out until top is nice and even and flat.

7.  Cover the top evenly with marshmallows.  Sprinkle with cinnamon if desired.

8.  Place in oven for 20 minutes or until marshmallows have browned.

9.  Serve and enjoy!

            

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Baked Yam and Marshmallow”

  1. November 23, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Oh man this looks yummy! Lucky you guys have an oven. I would make it but I don’t think wok fry would quite work with this beast.

    • November 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

      I am lucky to have been able to have made all those dishes because I have two ovens to work with!!!

Leave a Reply

