Family to be Thankful For and Good Food to Share

It is that time of year where I stuff myself all day and feel no guilt.  Because on Thanksgiving Day, I have much to feel blessed about and I like to share that with family.  I don’t have a big family, I wish I did, but I cook like I have a huge family.  This year since I spent Thanksgiving in Hong Kong, I decided to mix it up and cook both traditional Western dishes as well as some popular Chinese dishes a la Shen.  I would like to share some pictures with you in this blog and show you all the dishes I made for the evening.  My next three posts in will focus on my favorite three dishes and the recipes for them.  I won’t tell you which ones, I know, sneaky aren’t I?  That is because I want the element of surprise for the rest of this week!  Come back for those recipes, you hear?

Seafood Paella

Corn Pudding

Baked Four Cheese Macaroni

Shanghainese Onion Duck with Sticky Rice Stuffing –  since we were not successful in locating a turkey this year, we decided on a duck substitute!

Baked Yam and Marshmallows

Portugese Grilled Fish x 2

Shanghainese Spare Rib Sticky Rice wrapped in Bamboo Leaves

Note:  I apologize in advance for the poor photography on these dishes.  I really was in a rush to get it all ready and on time.  Which means I had to sacrifice the quality of my pictures.  I still wanted to share it all with you so hope you don’t mind.  

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Events

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Family to be Thankful For and Good Food to Share”

  1. November 22, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    The pictures portray the important part, that it was a celebration of Thanksgiving, not a photo shoot.

    • November 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      Thanks Keith. Nice of you to say but believe it or not some people have made comments before about the photography of my food!

      • November 22, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

        I live by a motto, the day I’m perfect then I can expect everyone else to be as well. It’s more enjoyable to enjoy, life than to walk around nitpicking.

      • November 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

        I agree with you completely!!!

  2. November 22, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    they look good to me.. esp the macaroni ^^

  3. November 23, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    YUMMY!

  4. November 23, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    You have created a feast and every dish looks so yummy! Love it!

    • November 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

      Wow thank you for your very nice comment 🙂

  5. Mengis
    December 17, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    I’m truly blessed to have tasted the awesome food and to be sharing the thanksgiving meal with close friends. Thank you sooooo much :-))

    • December 18, 2012 at 2:09 am #

      So happy you could make it Meng!!! Hope to see you soon. xxx

Leave a Reply

