Tea and Art

To all you cultural junkies out there who would not mind an afternoon of sipping tea along with a nice cake followed by an art walk of creativity,  OCT Loft – Creative Industrial Park – is the place you want to be.  I feel very lucky indeed that I was able to catch the art street for new and emerging artists displaying and selling their work.  I heard this only takes place the first weekend of every month and I was able to catch that.

First of, Donkey bar already seemed like a cafe for like-minded individuals who have a deep appreciation for the arts.  I have a very cheeky look on my face because I was laughing at the name of the cafe and some items on the menu.

Does it say Pawpaw Juice?  Really???  What in the world is Pawpaw Juice?  Gotta love China!  I ended up being safe and ordering a chocolate milk tea.  So refreshing.

I saw there were a lot of other people ordering dessert.  Being the Gourmand Chic that I am I had dessert envy and decided to order one of my own and see what the rage was all about.  I mean everyone seemed to be eating something.  So I asked for the menu.

I had a hard time deciding between the Blueberry Cheese Cake and the Cheese Cake.  I know it seems so trivial a decision and what a seemingly small difference.  You either get it with blueberries or you don’t.  But it is not easy because it is that very blueberry that makes a world of difference depending how sweet your tongue is on that particular day.

Can you guys guess what I got?  Big HINT:  look above!  If you guessed Blueberry Cheese Cake kudos to you.  I didn’t exactly make that easy did I?  All joking aside, the cheese cake was very light and the texture was just right.  Don’t like cheese cakes too heavy and thick.  It was not too sweet and went perfectly with my ice chocolate milk tea.  I sat back and soaked in my surroundings, enjoying every morsel.

After my afternoon tea, I spent some time going around taking pictures with this Leica X2 and testing out a camera that is sought out by many.  Courtesy of my friend, Ning, who very kindly allowed me to use his camera.  I wanted to see what the hype was all about and if the camera really lived up to it’s name.  The following are pictures I took around the art street fair and the loft area.  Hopefully through my photos you can get a feel for this place.  After eating a walk is never a bad idea!

And what does one do after such a nice long, leisurely walk?  I smelled beef noodles and my nose led me to this very cute little restaurant.  Eating after walking?  Yeah, why not!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Tea and Art”

  1. November 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    The noose art is awesome, as well as those huge images. Funny how the drinks are more expensive than the dessert??? Donkey bar 😀

    • November 25, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      I know. I noticed that too and was like “What?”

  2. November 25, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Cool looking place! Lucky for everyone in Hong Kong it’s still nice! I”ve entered hibernation mode as Shanghai cools down for winter. Ever been to M50 in Shanghai or 798 in Beijing? Also very cool art zones. Reading the characters next to Pawpaw it seems it’s Papaya Juice.

    • November 26, 2012 at 12:35 am #

      Yeah it is Papaya Juice in Chinese. But in English it makes no sense

      • November 26, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

        Ah , I learn something new everyday. Wikipedia tells me that Australians call papaya “pawpaw” I like the name papaya better haha.

      • November 27, 2012 at 8:33 am #

        So it is an Australian term! I learned something new as well 🙂 Thanks!!!

  3. November 26, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Wow, I didn’t realize China had such a thriving street art scene! It actually reminds me a lot of Montreal, or some things I’ve seen in Europe. Very, very cool.

    Also, I seriously enjoy the way the blueberries on that cheesecake look like they’ve been painted on with thick oil paint. ^^

    • November 27, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      You’d be surprised with what you can find in China these days. I think Shanghai would be truly fun if you have never been and has a mix of everything. Thank you for making such nice comments about my home country!!!

  4. November 27, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    G-Chic – Thanks for the “virtual” tour. That Leica X2 is a great camera and it shows in the frames you posted.

    • November 27, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Glad you like the pics. Yeah, the Leica X2 takes some time getting used to but I had a great day!!! My kind of weekend 🙂

  5. November 29, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Loved the photos! Cheese cakes mmmmmmm ❤
    😀

    Followed!
    -Mari
    http://ohyesshesabitchbutnotyours.com/

Leave a Reply

