Who wants pigeon?

IMG_4020

Michelin rated restaurants seem to be the trend now for any restaurant in Hong Kong (or any part of the world for that matter) if you want to be on the map as a top-notch restaurant.  However, the other night when I was craving pigeon, I ended up in a locally known restaurant where Hong Kong people frequent for deliciously roasted pigeons.  You know I must love my pigeons because I went to Sha Tin for this.  Nowhere close to where I live!

IMG_4019

What I did not expect was to find that this restaurant has been recommended in the Michelin guide for 2 years in a row.  It made me curious as to how a restaurant is even approved for such an award.  All I know is that my taste buds were tingly from excitement all the way there.

IMG_4011

When you walk into Fung Lum Restaurat, it is like any typical Hong Kong restaurant – loud and crowded with people jammed pack into a small space.  Chinese people love to eat and will do anything for good food because it is part of our culture and a way to be with family and friends.  I know my parents and I love to seek out hidden gems as well as frequenting our favorite haunts.  We have been here about 3 to 4 times and each time our focus is pigeon, pigeon, and more pigeon.

IMG_3999

We ended up ordering two plates of pigeons!

That doesn’t mean we do not order other food because we do.  We tend to go a bit overboard with our selections, as my mother always believes that more is better than not having enough.  Chinese people also like to order dishes in abundance to show generosity.  This waitress (pictured below) has been working here for as long as I can remember.  Coincidentally, every time we come here she has been our server and in return recognizes us each time we visit.  Now that is customer service.

IMG_4010

I went in not knowing they were Michelin recommended until I arrived there, did that change my mind about their food?  It did make me analyze the taste and flavor a bit more but the verdict at the end of the night is that Fung Lum Restaurant is still my favorite place to go for roasted pigeon.  It is a bit of a drive but well worth it.  Here are some of the other dishes we ordered as well.  My palate was definitely on sensory overload.

IMG_4001

Braised Bean Curd

IMG_4007

Mixed Vegetable Clay Pot with Mushrooms and Glass Noodles

IMG_4005

Black Bean Bitter Melon Stewed with Lightly Fried Garoupa

IMG_4012

Fried Shrimp Balls

IMG_4015

Black Sesame Glutinous Rice Balls with Peanut Syrup

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Restaurant Reviews

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Who wants pigeon?”

  1. December 10, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Pigeon, or “toresan” in the local Vicenza dialect, is a popular dish. Prepared on the spit and served up with grilled slices of polenta and accompanied by a good bottle of local red from the hills around Breganze. Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

