Best Of 2012, Best of Me

DSC01253

At the beginning of every new year, I like to look back on the previous year and see all that I have experienced and learned.  I feel it is important for us to do this not only to appreciate what we have gone through but to also glean from what experiences we have had and improve ourselves for the future.  I am a true believer that we never stop growing as people.  Every day gives us a new opportunity to teach ourselves something new.  The day we stop learning is the day we stop growing.  I also try to not take anything for granted and try to be grateful for whatever I am given.  There are times that I am discouraged and life does get me down.  I have my moments too.  However, I am someone who gets back on my feet again right away as I tend to have a very positive attitude towards life.  Nothing can bring me down too long.

Life_Quotes_girls-birds-quotes-life-magazine-wallpaper-1024x640

I have been told I have great inner strength and that I deal with the ups and downs of life very well.  Many of my friends often run to me for a shoulder to cry on or for advice.  While I may be good at giving it, I am not so good at applying it to my own life.  I have a good capacity to stand back and really take a good look at my life and at myself.  I read a lot of self-help books in hopes of understanding who I am today and who I can be tomorrow.  The conclusion?  I still have a long way to go before I can truly say I have become the person I want to be and to be proud of who I am.  But I am working towards it bit by bit.

DSC00519

So without further ado, here are some of my experiences for 2012 through a series of photographs.  These photographs will depict family and friends, places I have gone, food I have eaten and cooked, things I have learned, people I have met, and also a lot on my bucket list was achieved this year.

New Places I Visited This Year

                    _DSC1012

Grand Cayman was a dream come true

_DSC0036

Would love to return to this paradise someday

_DSC0547

Visited Montreal in the midst of student protests all over the city

_DSC0653

Beautiful Quebec

IMG_0467

Moncton, New Brunswick

IMG_1258

Crossing the longest bridge to Prince Edward Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Long awaited moment – Capri, Italy.  Wanted to visit for years and finally made it

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Capri is a place I definitely would like to revisit many times in my life.  So much more I still haven’t seen of this gorgeous island

IMG_1689

Positano, Italy

DSC_0013

I absolutely loved Positano

_DSC0441

Chiang Mai, Thailand

_DSC0127

Laos – definitely want to spend more time here exploring some day as I only crossed the Thai border to visit for a few hours

Memorable Food

Crab Claw

Crab Claw Topped with Caviar

Japanese Chirashi Bowl

The most beautiful Chirashi bowl I have ever eaten

IMG_9775

Mixed Conch and Crab Stuffed in a Shell

_DSC0718

Best Ovaltine drink everrrrrrrrrr

DSC00662

I don’t typically like fish but look at this!

IMG_1814

Duck Tongue

IMG_0998

Chestnut Creme Brûlée Dessert

_DSC0777

Noodles on the go.  So tasty

DSC01956

Chiu Chow Fried Noodles Eaten with Sugar and Vinegar

IMG_3943

Taiwanese Shaved Ice with Green Bean, Red Bean, Jelly, Mango and Boba

IMG_0690

Found this, had it once, and just like that it was gone.  Cannot find this anywhere now

IMG_2527

Seared Ahi Tuna Burger

IMG_1280

Korean Kalbi Tacos

iPhone 2222

Fried Stinky Tofu

People I Have Met In 2012

GCBourdain

YES!  I met Anthony Bourdain.  Definite highlight of the year!!!

GCRipert

Also got to meet Eric Ripert that same day.  I was so stoked.  But wait…there is more…

GCBlais

Richard Blais and I

GCAndres

José Andrés…what a funny and nice guy

Things I Have Checked Off My Bucket List In 2012

GCTiger

Petting a Tiger

GCMonkey

Holding a Baby Monkey

 

GCRailroad

Lying on a Railroad

206715_10152395015500370_1036035423_n

Going Inside an Igloo

GCgoldentriangle

Visiting The Golden Triangle

Lobster Fishing

Lobstering Like a True Fisherman 

GCfilming

Filming a TV show

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: About Me

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Best Of 2012, Best of Me”

  1. January 8, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    Wonderful photos, a real excellent post… 🙂

  2. January 11, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    Wow! Make it super wow! Exciting places of adventures, great foods, awesome people, it’s a dream year my friend. I admire your enthusiasm for life and discovery. Of embracing the new and valuing what fate has to offer. Love the pictures. Cayman Islands beaches just seem to be saying, “visit me soon.” Happy New Year.

  3. February 12, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    WOW! So much to say here. Amazing, incredibly beautiful places. Awesome food explorations. Those duck tongue doesn’t look appealing. Hehe But I’d eat it as a challenge.
    Then, caring for animals … you’ve done so much.
    I didn’t get anywhere outside last year. I’m hoping something comes up this June.
    AWESOME POST!

    • February 12, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      Yay you checked out my post 🙂 Thank you. I thought you would enjoy reading it!!! Cannot wait to hear more of your adventures.

  4. mel
    February 7, 2014 at 10:40 pm #

    hey there, I am your new follower! I enjoy reading your stories and definitely your adventure in life.

    • February 10, 2014 at 6:08 pm #

      Thank you so much for following me! I really appreciate it and hope you enjoy my blog!

Leave a Reply

