Eating at the Peak of Thailand

DSC01111

Doi Inthanon National Park is not far from Chiang Mai and definitely well worth visiting.  It houses Thailand’s highest peak at 2,565 meters (8,400 ft).  Unfortunately, I wasn’t feeling too well that day and was not able to see everything I wanted.  Being the gourmand that I am, I ate something bad the night before and was paying for it for about a day or two.  That is the risk you run when traveling and being as adventurous with food as I am.  Do I regret it?  Absolutely not.  That just means one of these days I will have to make a trip back to the park.

DSC01128

Despite not feeling well I still managed to see the very scenic Wachiratan Waterfall.  I don’t remember the last time I saw a waterfall this magnificent.  Standing there and watching the waterfall made it hard for me to leave, but my stomach started growling and alerted me that it was time to fill it back up with something delicious.

DSC01178

There is a restaurant I went to at the park.  I really have to apologize for not noting down the name but my hunger got the best of me and made me forget everything else.  However, I do believe that it is the only restaurant at the park of this size.  It was pretty big and they served really nice local dishes that seemed more of a home-cooked style.  Here are the dishes I ate before moving on to the next site:

DSC01165

DSC01168

DSC01169

DSC01171

DSC01170

I have always loved Thai food.  What you have to realize is, like Chinese food, Thai food is very different when you go eat the real thing than what you find in your home country.  It is still very exotic and yummy but having Thai food cooked by locals cannot be beat.  A tip that I can give you is to find restaurants that really don’t have an English translated menu.  They serve great food but if you want something even more local than go to that hole in the wall where the menu is written in Thai.  The good thing is most locals do speak a bit of English and that paired with some gestures will get you some tasty dishes for your meal.  Thais love their soup and with almost every meal there is Tom Yam Gung or Tom Ka Gai.  Both spicy but I highly recommend them.  No matter how many times I have these two soups I can always have more.  Shown above is how the soup is served.  Another dish that seems to be popular is Stir Fried Cashews with Chicken, also pictured above.

My advice?  Be as adventurous as you can because when is the next time you will be back?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Eating at the Peak of Thailand”

  1. January 11, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    Very interesting post… 🙂

    “but having Thai food cooked by locals cannot be beat” – totally agree… 🙂

Leave a Reply

