Wild Wild West

DSC00266

Rarely do I ever give a bad review.  I don’t think I have had such terrible service in a restaurant in my entire life.  I am not exaggerating.  I am a pretty patient person when it comes to most things.  I am not one of those diners in a restaurant that keep complaining or put up a big fuss over things.  However, The Old West Pub Steakhouse Birreria in Pompeii, Italy…is a place I will never go back to.

DSC00260

The first impression of the restaurant upon walking in seemed to be a place well designed and had a charm to it that makes you want to walk in and sit down.  Not to mention the fact that a week of Italian food was making me crave a good hamburger or hotdog of some sort.  Just some good ol’ American food was what I needed.  Chinese would have been better but impossible to find a Chinese restaurant much to my surprise.

DSC00262

The first thing that was frustrating was just getting something as simple as a menu.  After walking in and quickly finding a seat by the window, I was ready to relax and have a nice meal.  I waited and waited and had to ask for a menu from three different servers before getting one 30 minutes later.

DSC00261

Even just a bottle of water took forever!  At one point I literally had to complain and tell them how ridiculous it was to wait for almost an hour and still no sign of food.  There were also a lot of other patrons that just walked out and said they couldn’t wait.  So many disgruntled customers were not pleased at all.  Not sure if they were understaffed in the kitchen perhaps because there were definitely enough servers.

DSC00259

Lets just say that everyone you see here in this picture, all left the restaurant.  I was the only one who actually waited and stayed.  I really should have walked out too.  The waitress had such a hard time taking my order as well.  When it finally came?  It wasn’t even what I had wanted.  I ordered something equivalent to bangers and mash.  I thought the waitress understood, but then look at what I got.

DSC00268

A hot dog sandwich?  Served Italian style?  I have never had hot dogs with hamburger buns and lettuce.  I just decided to quickly eat and leave because I was in a rush to get to Mt. Vesuvius and only had a certain amount of time to eat my lunch.  I was not a happy camper.  Didn’t taste good at all.  The hot dog wasn’t even hot and the bun was dry.

DSC00272

Last time I ever come to this restaurant.  I should have stuck to something local and safe.  Looks can be deceiving I have learned from this experience.  As the saying goes, never judge a book by it’s cover.  By the same token, never judge a restaurant by it’s decor and name!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Restaurant Reviews

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Wild Wild West”

  1. January 28, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Sometimes you just have to give a bad review because it does the rest of us a favour 🙂

    • January 30, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Thank you for saying that. I do usually present as much of the truth as possible when I do a review. Thanks for stopping by!!!

  2. January 28, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh My God!!! What a sad-sad face, you poor girl. A restaurant that does not pride itself on their food and service will be gone soon enough.

    • January 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      Yes very true. And hahaha…that is the saddest picture of me…ever!!!

  3. January 28, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    Hahahahah You look so sad. Bwahahaha 😆 30 minutes for a water, ridiculous. If there’s a lot of open seat, I just sit wherever and grab the menu my own. And yeah, I had an experience like this where I waited so long just to get an order, but I stayed relaxed. It wasn’t me who’s losing customers. Your order looks redonkulous!

    • January 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      I guess we have all had an experience like this at least once? Where was this that you waited so long? Thanks for coming by. Been awhile. How are you?

  4. January 29, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    You got the youwilleatwhatwegiveyouandpretendwedidn’tunderstandyourorder. The most egregious time that happened to us was in Paris. I know what a croque monsieur is and we got a hoagie.

  5. February 23, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    Looks can be deceiving — so true about restaurants! some are all presentation but such horrible food and service.

    • February 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      Have you had such an experience?

      • February 23, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

        plenty! >< haha

Leave a Reply

