Positano Goodies


IMG_1689

Positano, Italy is a place unlike any other.  I waited so many years to visit this part of Italy and was worried that my anticipation would disappoint me when I actually arrived there.  The truth is the moment I stepped foot in Positano it completely charmed me.  It is a small picturesque town located along the Amalfi Coast.

IMG_1693

I come from a big city.  I grew up in Hong Kong.  However, deep down inside my soul I have always been a small city girl.  I love being by water and I love the tranquility of a less hectic life.  Cobblestone streets like this one makes me want to walk for days.  I absolutely love it.  The sound of the sea never tires me.  I love that too.  To me the sea is never the same on any given day.  It is what makes it so mesmerizing to me.  I love the countless emotions a sea can have.  If I could live in a place near water and not too many people, I would be one happy girl.

IMG_1694

Every turn appealed to all my senses.  Sight. Sound. Smell.  And soon…taste.  There are a town of stairs in Positano.  You cannot escape a visit without climbing up or down stairs.  If you don’t like walking then you won’t find it easy to get around.

DSC00441

On one of the days during my visit, it was extremely hot and began to rain.  To escape from getting wet I happened to come upon this cute little cafe where I decided to take a break and grab a bite especially a much needed refreshing drink.

DSC00424

Finding La Zagara Garden Bar was what I call a “happy accident”.  Had it not rained and if it weren’t for a pair of weary feet begging for a break I would probably have walked a little further and missed this place altogether.  I loved the entire feel of the cafe.  As the drizzle turned to pouring rain the place began to fill up and was packed within ten minutes.

IMG_1697

Have you ever wanted to steal a dining table and somehow smuggle it back home?  Well, that thought never crossed my mind until I saw this table.  I shall never forget table number 7 and took a quick photo to keep it forever etched in my mind.

DSC00428

I started with not one..but two granite slushes.  The first one was orange and the second was watermelon.  They weren’t cheap drinks at 5 euros a pop but they really hit the spot.

DSC00430

I then went on to start with a Tonno e Pomodoro – Tuna Fish and Tomatoes.  I never thought I would use this word to describe a salad but it tasted sublime.  Honestly, I treasured every bite.  This cost me 10 euros.

DSC00431

Next on the menu for my voracious appetite was La Probita – Salame Piccante Fior di Latte, which is basically a spicy salami and mozzarella cheese pizza.  I typically don’t like spicy food but this pizza was really good.  My entire trip has been filled with pizza yet I never got tired of it.  Again, for a slice of pizza I thought 4 euros was pricey.

DSC00434

I had to end my meal with a dessert because when I walked in I saw a whole array of cakes and pastries that made me salivate.  I ordered the Tiramisu Limone.  I think it is safe to say that the dessert was my favorite part of my meal.  It was light and delicious and my stomach could have handled at least two more!!!

DSC00433

Here is a close up of the tiramisu just to make you jealous.  Ha ha ha.  I know…I know…you can call me a meanie.  But seriously.  If you somehow manage to come upon this cafe, please do yourself a favor and order this.  Here are a few more picture of the cakes I saw when I walked in.

DSC00439

DSC00438

DSC00437

My trip was so ahhhhhmazing.  I love Italians.  They are so full of life.  I loved waking up in the morning in Positano because I am filled with anticipation for what the day was going to bring.The sea glimmering as those first rays of light hit the water whilst the smell of lemon surrounded the entire town just made me appreciate the simplicity of it all.  Ah…Positano.  I shall be back.  Someday.

IMG_1688

“”Positano bites deep…..It is a dream place that isn’t quite real when you are there and becomes beckoningly real after you have gone.”

— John Steinbeck

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Restaurant Reviews, Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Positano Goodies”

  1. February 23, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    the tiramisu looks so enticing. hehe.

    ah Italy, when do I get to see this part of the world?

  2. February 23, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Your first picture, what an imposing view of the town! Incredible!

    • February 23, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

      Why thank you. Coming from a photographer such as yourself that means a lot. You ever been to Positano?

      • February 23, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

        Actually I’ve never been to Italy yet. But I’m hoping to visit the country in the not-too-distant future.

      • February 23, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

        Oh wow…I am sure you will love it. Go to Tuscany too. I love Tuscany

  3. February 23, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    I knew I’m going to regret looking at the food pics. Grrrr. I miss Italy so so much.
    I love Almalfi Coast. Just the view of those stairs of houses alone in front if beautiful, beautiful water, it’s an amazing setting and, like you said, like no other.

    • February 23, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      Yeah Amalfi Coast is really gorgeous. I wouldn’t mind having a summer home there!!!

  4. February 23, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    Awesome food and peaceful scenery, love it! Especially the tables that I too want to take home lol

    • February 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      Hahaha just like me…we should plan some kind of break in 😛

      • February 23, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

        For sure! I’m sure the locals won’t suspect two people walking out with painted tables middle of the night, perfectly normal 😉

      • February 24, 2013 at 1:01 am #

        hahaha we can dress in black and blend with the night!

      • February 24, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

        Exactly! just imagine the restaurant owner’s look on his face in the morning muahaha 😉

Leave a Reply

