Feast for the Eyes and Feast for the Stomach

IMG_1178

When I was invited by the General Manager of the Shen Zhen JW Marriott Hotel for a Chinese meal and a tasting menu that would make anyone salivate, I immediately set a date to hop over the border and spend a few nights.  Food entices my every move, that and a chance to blog about such local delicatessen is something I would not miss for the world.  Colin is one of the nicest GM’s I have met and he runs an impeccable place.  A hotel is only as good as their GM and he knows how to run a good team.

The restaurant I ate at is called Man Ho Chinese Restaurant.  The main area of the restaurant holds about 120 people with 6 private rooms available for a more secluded and quiet meal.  It is a very formal Chinese custom to start with a welcome tea.  A guest will always drink the entire cup in one go to be polite.

IMG_1181

The first dish served was a lovely marinated arctic clam with celery.  What an exquisite dish.  The taste was perfectly blended and the taste of the clam was not strong at all.  The sesame seeds really did the trick without overpowering the other ingredients.  Don’t you just love the colors too?

IMG_1183

IMG_1184

This next dish was  real treat because you don’t find many restaurants who serve it or have it on their menu.  What you see here in the two pictures above are marinated cordyceps in aged vinegar sauce.  Sounds so simple yet this dish must be done perfectly, and perfectly done it was.  I kept wanting more.  Colin ended up ordering another plate of the cordyceps and we managed to polish that off too.

IMG_1186

The third dish we had was marinated fish in Shanghai style.  Shanghainese food is very differently prepared compared to Cantonese cuisine.  Shanghai dishes tend to be more flavorful with thicker sauces and usually sweeter marinade.

IMG_1194

Can anyone guess what was next on the menu?  Colin really went all out and I was very impressed with the presentation and plating techniques during the whole meal.  This looks like we had ordered tea right?  Well, guess again.  This beautiful teapot contained a double boiled soup with assorted wild mushrooms.  It was so soothing for the stomach and warm for the soul.  I am a big soup person especially good Chinese soup.

IMG_1205

IMG_1206

I believe this must have been my favorite dish the entire meal.  What you see here was truly a dish for the senses.  Again so wonderfully presented that I was hesitant to eat it and spoil it.  However, I am glad I didn’t skip this because I had eaten so much already.  Simmered seasonal vegetable in superior soup topped with crackling rice.  

Here are a few more dishes we had:

IMG_1193

Kurobuta Pork Loin Marinated with Honey and Barbecued.  This is done the traditional Cantonese way.  Don’t you love how they put pebbles on the side of the dish?  Unexpected but love the idea.

IMG_1190

Roasted Crispy Goose – one of my favorites meats

IMG_1198

Of course no Cantonese meal is complete without some dim sum dishes.  This is the ever popular Steam Shrimp Dumplings.  Always served in a steamer.

IMG_1197

Baked Barbecue Pork Buns with Snow Custard Topping – so soft and literally melts in your mouth

IMG_1195

Traditional Shanghai Steamed Pork Dumplings.  Eaten with vinegar.  YUM!

IMG_1201

Fried Dough Wrapped in Rice Roll

IMG_1200

Simmered Seasonal Vegetable in Superior Sauce

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Exotic Foods, Restaurant Reviews, Travel Foods

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Feast for the Eyes and Feast for the Stomach”

  1. February 24, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    I love the presentation of the dishes, It’s one of the things I always look for when I go to restaurants. Wish I could try the soup, it’s cute that it comes in it’s own mini ceramic pot 🙂

  2. February 24, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    A quality not quantity kind of restaurant, it seems to me. Marinated cordyceps? Sounds so simple? Er? 😀 ….

  3. February 24, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    So hungry now; thinking about leaving work and taking the train to Lowu; I could be there by lunch! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. February 25, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    So well presented, feeling very hungry 🙂

Leave a Reply

