Daily Prompt: First Light

IMG_1769

You may find me strange but when I see first light and open my eyes from a nice sleep, I think “What will I be eating today?”  I literally do love my food.  Many people enjoy food or find it a necessity to survive.  For me, I savor every bite, I appreciate every dish and the work that goes into it, I sniff the aroma from anyone or anywhere that food may be cooking.  I love food.

IMG_0716

Every aspect of the dining experience makes my eyes light up when I see something new and exciting.  You can say I am seeing the first light whenever I come across something new.  It is hard to do so these days but when I do…I am full of excitement like a child waking up on Christmas morning.

IMG_3909

So much creativity can go into preparing a dish from beginning to end.  As someone who cooks a lot not only for myself but for family and friends, I find it more enjoyable when I create artful dishes.  I love plating in ways that delights the senses as soon as it is served.

IMG_0859

Many people do not realize how important lighting is to food.  We imagine that food is to be eaten.  Why would we need to see it or light it up?  In my opinion, being able to see what we are eating is just as important as eating the food.  A lot of restaurants are so dark that you can barely see the menu, let alone what is on your plate!  Coloring enhances the appetite and it is said that when we can see the ingredients it enhances the palate and allows us to taste more accurately.  When all our five senses are working together we are truly able to experience every nuance of flavor.

IMG_2430

Using natural resources to plate food with is something I love to do.  For example, using shells to create a seafood dish.

IMG_2791

I love food so much I often dream about it too.  I have dreams of going fishing and catching multiple fish for dinner.  I love having dreams of traveling to remote places and eating exotic foods.  I love having dreams where I can eat and eat and not gain an ounce of weight.

IMG_2489

Some dishes even rely on light to help keep them warm.  Heating lamps were created as one way to not only light up the food but also has a functional purpose so as not to let it get cold.

IMG_3494

How fitting that I am writing this post before bed.  I am about to go to sleep and guess what I am looking forward to?  That’s right.  First light of a new day bringing me all the possibilities of new food to try.  I feel grateful to be able to relive this moment every time I wake up.  It is good to be thankful and even better to enjoy the simple things that life has to offer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Daily Prompt: First Light”

  1. March 1, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    Love presentation of food, It adds that little something extra to the taste of well prepared dishes 🙂

  2. Brian Lew
    March 1, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    We are so much alike 🙂

  3. March 1, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    I can only read your blog after I’ve eaten because it always looks so tasty!

  4. Mike D.
    March 1, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    Great pics…I gotta break out my camera and start practicing to hone my photography skills.

  5. March 3, 2013 at 9:18 am #

    You made me hungry! It all looks so yummy!

  6. March 3, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    Hmmm, now I’ll look at lighting on food in a very,different way. Very nice post, I could feel you were talking about something you really love.

Leave a Reply

