Chinese Black Bean Stir Fried Clams

Black Bean Clams

This is probably one of the first dishes I learned as a child.  I still remember watching my nanny make this.  Then one day I pleaded to try and help make it to surprise my parents when they came home for dinner.  My nanny agreed and proceeded to teach me a dish that would be one of my favorites for years to come. Fortunately, the dish turned out well and my parents were pleasantly surprised and pleased as punch!  I recently posted this photo on my Facebook fanpage and one of my followers immediately asked for the recipe.  So here it is.  Very simple to make and scrumptious to eat.

Yield:  4-6 servings

Cooking Time:  15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 dozen littleneck or cherrystone clams
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons Chinese dried black beans (rinse beforehand)
  • 3 tablespoons oil of your choice
  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons Chinese rice wine

Method:

  1. Wash the clams thoroughly in several changes of cold water, discarding any open clams. Scrub the shells with a small brush to remove grit and rinse well. Drain the clams in a colander and set aside.
  2.  Heat a 14-inch flat-bottomed wok or skillet over high heat until hot but not smoking. Add 1 tablespoon of your oil and all of the garlic.  Stir-fry 30 seconds, or until fragrant. Add the remaining 2 tablespoons oil, black beans and clams.  Stir-fry 3 to 4 minutes, or until the shells just begin to open.
  3.  Add the broth and rice wine.  Cover 2 to 3 minutes, or until some of the shells have opened. Transfer the opened clams to a platter and continue stirring om high heat, uncovered.  When all the clams have opened and the broth is reduced slightly, about 3 to 4 minutes, you can stir in the Chinese black beans. Discard any unopened clams.
  4.  Serve immediately.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Chinese Black Bean Stir Fried Clams”

  1. March 15, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    the key here is to find really fresh clams, is it not? looks very tasty!

    • March 16, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      Yes…fresh is good!!! If you try the recipe let me know!

Leave a Reply

