Kitayama Restaurant in Orange County

Kitayama is a gem that is hidden.  I say that because if it were not for a friend who introduced me to the restaurant and took me here, I would never have stopped by.  It is easy to miss due to the location of the restaurant.

I usually go on Tuesday evenings and get there early.  The restaurant opens at 6pm, but if you want a good spot at the sushi bar, get there early at like 5:15pm to secure your seat as the sushi bar fills up quickly.

I always order Omakase style.  This basically means you are leaving the selection up to the chef.  It is not the same as ordering  à la carte.  When ordering omakase,  the chef will generally present a series of plates, beginning with the lightest fare and proceeding to heaviest, richest dishes.  The phrase is not exclusive to service of raw fish with rice, and can incorporate grilling and simmering as well.  Customers ordering omakase style expect the chef to be innovative and surprising in the selection of dishes, and the meal can be likened to an artistic performance by the chef.

I have had so many wonderful creations here at Kitayama.  Some of my favorite include a “special eel” sushi and a “special tempura roll”.  They always have fresh fish and you cannot go wrong with the scallop or conch!

I have read many reviews on here saying the shabu shabu is good but I have never tried it.  Once you go to the sushi bar, you cannot go back!!

 

Categories: Restaurant Reviews

Author:gourmandchic

I love to travel to new places and try exotic new foods ! Follow me on my journey!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment